STATE OF IDAHO

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LICENSE RENEWAL FORMS
AND METHODS OF PAYMENT

License renewal applications were mailed to each licensee on 8/27/12. The forms
included preprinted name, license number, and mailing address. The online forms are to be used
as a replacement for lost or damaged forms. You must print the forms, complete them (include
name, license number and mailing address) and send to the Borad of Dentistry by October 1,
2012. If paying by check, please include payment with the renewal forms. Payment may also be
made online by clicking “online payments” on the left side of the Board of Dentistry’s web page.
Renewal of your license is not complete until required forms and payment are received and
processed by the Board of Dentistry. Please expect 3-5 business days for processing.

LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION CHECKLIST
License Renewal Application Form - completed and signed
Continuing Education Record (active status only) — completed and signed

Background Information form — completed and signed

I

Payment of Renewal Fee - acceptable forms of payment submitted by mail include personal
or business check, money order, or cashier’s check. Credit/debit card payments and e-checks
are accepted online through the Board’s website at www.isbd.idaho.gov . Renewal forms
and payments sent separately must be received within five (5) business days of each other or
the forms/payment will be rejected.

All forms and fees MUST be received or postmarked by October 1, 2012. Incomplete
applications or insufficient fees will result in your renewal application being rejected.

For active status licensees: Please see enclosed information regarding your Idaho Patient
Freedom of Information Act provider profile.




License Number

Idaho State Board of Dentistry
PO Box 83720 Boise, ID 83720-0021 )
Telephone: (208) 334-2369 Current License Status

Biennial Dental License Renewal
October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2014

Name/Address Change

Please provide an email address for future notification of license renewal as well as other general Board correspondence.

Email Address:

Your license to practice as a Dentist in the State of Idaho expires on September 30, 2012. To renew your license for the period from October 1,
2012 through September 30, 2014 return this completed application, any other required forms as stated in this application along with a check or
money order payable to the Idaho Board of Dentistry. An online payment option is also available on the Board’s website at www.isbd.idaho.gov.
Application and payment must be physically received by the Board of Dentistry on or before October 1, 2012 or received by mail postmarked by
the U.S. Postal Service on or before October 1, 2012. This is the only renewal notice you will receive. Incomplete applications or insufficient
fees will result in your renewal application being rejected. Information regarding completion of this renewal application is included on the reverse
side of this form.

#1 License Status and Fee: Please check the appropriate box to indicate the status of the license to be renewed and the amount of the
applicable renewal fee. Check the appropriate box and include payment of the late fee if applicable. Any licensee serving in the armed
forces of the United States is exempt from the payment of license fees during the period of active duty (must complete number 2
of application).

[ ACHVE SEAIUS ©..vvveevie e e e e e e eee $375 (must complete numbers 3, 4, 5, 7 below)
[ INACHIVE STALUS .....oevivvier e eee e e e e $160 (must complete numbers 5, 7 below)
[ Retirement Status ...........c.ccevveeeieiiireee et e $ 10 (must sign number 7 below)
[ VOIUNEEEI'S SLALUS ... eeeeee e e e e $ 0 (must complete numbers 4, 5, 7 below)
[ Late renewal application fee ...............ccoeeeuuveeeeeennnnnn... $ 50 (see late fee information on reverse side)
] Voluntary termination of license................ccccccvvveeennn... (must sign number 6 below)

Method of payment: ___Payment Enclosed __Online Payment

#2 Declaration of Military Service: | hereby declare that | am currently serving on active duty in the armed forces of the United States.

Signature Branch of Military Service

#3 Continuing Education: In order to renew an active status dentist license, thirty (30) continuing education credit hours completed during the
renewal period must be reported. One (1) hour of credit may be reported for each two (2) hours of volunteer practice up to a maximum of
ten (10) credits. List continuing education credits completed on the enclosed form entitled “Dentist — Continuing Education Record”. Active
status renewal applications received without the Continuing Education Record form will be rejected.

#4 CPR Certification: | affirm that my cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification is current. The expiration date of my current CPR
certification is:

#5 Background Information: The enclosed form entitled “Background Information” must be completed and submitted with the renewal
application. Renewal applications received without the Background Information form will be rejected.

#6 Voluntary Termination of License: | no longer intend to maintain my dental license and hereby voluntarily terminate my license. |
understand that if | terminate my license, | will no longer be authorized to practice as a dentist in Idaho.

Signature Date

#7 Signature of Licensee: | certify that the information reported on this renewal application is true and correct and | understand that if my
application is incomplete, my license will not be renewed and my application and fee will be returned to me.

Signature Date




LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

1. Your completed renewal application, applicable forms and renewal fee must be received or postmarked on or before October 1, 2012.

Applications are incomplete unless all required information including signature are received or postmarked on or before October 1, 2012.

3. Applications are incomplete when payments are not honored by your bank. Pursuant to Idaho Code 54-920 there will be a $50
administrative fee on all payments returned unpaid by the bank.

4. A late fee in the amount of $50 will be imposed if the completed renewal application and license renewal fee is not received by October 1,
2012 but is received within the thirty (30) day grace period. The Board of Dentistry will accept renewal applications and license renewal
fees during the aforementioned thirty (30) day grace period so long as the late fee is also paid. A failure to pay the required license fee
when due shall constitute grounds to cancel, suspend, deny or revoke a license.

5. Electronic payments may be made through the Board of Dentistry’s website at www.isbd.idaho.gov. Checks should be made payable to the
Idaho Board of Dentistry and mailed to P.O. Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0021. Express delivery should be addressed to 350 N. g St.,
Suite M100, Boise, ID 83702.

N

License Status

Active Status: The Board may issue a license with active status to any person who is an active practitioner of dentistry or
dental hygiene in the state of Idaho or who signifies to the Board, in writing, that upon issuance he/she intends to be an active
practitioner in this state within two (2) years from date of licensure [I.C. 54-920]. EXCEPTIONS: A practitioner may also
qualify for active licensure if he/she absences his/her practice by reason of illness or vacation not exceeding two (2) years, or
serves in the Dental Department of the Armed Forces or Public Health Service of the United States, or is taking a Board
approved post-graduate educational courses, either within or without the State of Idaho [I.C. 54-920].

Inactive Status: This license is issued to practitioners who practice in a state other than Idaho. A license with inactive status
does not entitle a dentist or dental hygienist to practice in the State of Idaho.

Retirement Status: This license does not permit the holder to practice in Idaho, but does assure communication from the
Idaho State Board of Dentistry. There is no conversion from retirement status to active or any other license status other than
filing an application for licensure as required of a first time applicant.

Volunteer’s Status: The Board may issue a volunteer’s license to a dentist or dental hygienist who is retired from the active
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene to enable the retired dentist or dental hygienist to provide dental or dental hygiene
services at specified locations to persons who, due to age, infirmity, handicap, indigence or disability, are unable to receive
regular dental treatment.

Converting the Status of a License

Active to Inactive: A practitioner who is considering conversion from active status to inactive status should be aware of the requirements to
return to active practice. These requirements are listed below. Before converting from active to inactive status, a practitioner should consider
whether he or she qualified to maintain an active license under the exceptions as listed in 1.C. 54-920 as specified above. For example, a
practitioner considering retirement may wish to remain active and absent his practice for two years by reason of “vacation” rather than convert to
inactive as he would not be able to meet the proof of active practice requirement if he sought conversion back to active status. On the other
hand, for a practitioner who is leaving Idaho to practice in another state it would be appropriate to convert to inactive status as he could meet the
“proof of active practice” requirement if he returns to Idaho.

Inactive to Active: A practitioner who holds an inactive license can apply for conversion from inactive to active status at any time. Before
active status can be granted, however, the following requirements must be met: 1) payment of the license fee for active status (may be subject to
adjustment as determined by the Board of Dentistry); 2) certification of licensure in good standing from the state dental board of the state in
which licensee has been actively practicing; and 3) evidence of one thousand (1,000) hours of clinical practice of dentistry or dental hygiene
during the previous two (2) years or full-time employment as a dental or dental hygiene instructor. Persons unable to otherwise fully meet the
requirements for conversion to active status may convert their license upon Board approval. [I.C. 54-920]

Retirement to Active: There is no conversion from retirement status to active, inactive, provisional or special status other than filing an
application as a first time applicant. [I.C. 54-920]



IDAHO BOARD OF DENTISTRY
NUMBER 3: Dentist — Continuing Education Record

Applicants for renewal of an active status dental license shall file with the renewal application this signed
statement of the continuing education (CE) for which you claim credit. Responsibility for documenting
attendance and acceptability of the program rests with the applicant. Do not send any supporting documentation with this
form. Supporting documentation must be retained by the licensee.

YOUR NAME: LICENSE NUMBER:

Thirty (30) continuing education credits are required for renewal of an active status dental license unless otherwise designated
below. Continuing education requirements for recent graduates* and new licensees are as follows:

Date of Initial Licensure # of CEs required by 10/1/2012 Renewal Date
10/1/2010 through 12/31/2010 30

1/1/2011 through 3/31/2011 26

4/1/2011 through 6/30/2011 22

7/1/2011 through 9/30/2011 18
10/1/2011 through 12/31/2011 14

1/1/2012 through 3/31/2012 12

4/1/2012 through 6/30/2012 8

7/1/2012 through 9/30/2012 4

* For the current renewal period, a 2011 dental school graduate must report 15 hours of continuing education; there is no
continuing education reporting requirement for a 2012 dental school graduate.

List the continuing education courses you have taken over the past two years, October 1, 2010 through September 30, 2012. If
additional space is needed please list courses on the reverse side and add the number of hours to the total hours reported on this
form.

Course Name Sponsoring Organization Location Dates Attended Total Number of
Hours Earned

Total hours this page

Statement of Applicant
| certify that all information provided in this continuing education record
is true and correct.

Total hours from reverse

Total hours reported

Signature Date




Dentist — Continuing Education Record

Page 2

Course Name

Sponsoring Organization

Location

Dates Attended

Total Number of
Hours Earned

Total Hours This Side =




IDAHO BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Important! The following information is required in order to renew your active, inactive, or volunteer’s status
dentist/dental hygienist license. Please answer each question and return this form along with your renewal
application. Read the following definitions before completing the questions.

“Ability to practice dentistry/dental hygiene safely and competently” means ALL of the following:

1. The cognitive capacity to make reasoned clinical judgments, and to learn and keep abreast of clinical developments;
2. The ability to communicate clinical judgments and information to patients and other health care providers;
3. The capability to perform clinical tasks such as dental/dental hygiene examinations and dental/dental hygiene procedures.

“Medical condition” means any physiological or psychological condition, impairment, or disorder, including drug addiction and
alcoholism.

“Drugs or chemical substances” means alcohol, controlled substances, prescription drugs, illegal drugs, over-the-counter
medications, nitrous oxide, petroleum products, adhesive products and other chemical substances taken for mood alteration.

“Improper use of drugs or other chemical substances” means ANY of the following:

1. The use of any controlled substance and/or prescription drug in an addictive manner and/or for any purpose and to any
extent other than as directed by a licensed health care practitioner;

2. The use of any over-the-counter medication in an addictive manner and/or in a manner prohibited by law;

3. The use of alcohol in an addictive manner and/or to the extent that the use of alcohol impairs a person’s ability to safely
and competently practice as a dentist/dental hygienist;

4. The manufacture, possession, distribution or use of any drug, medication or chemical substance in a manner prohibited by
law.

In answering each of the following questions, please check the appropriate box next to each question. FOR EACH “YES" ANSWER
TO ANY OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS, YOU MUST PROVIDE A SEPARATE, SIGNED STATEMENT PROVIDING A
COMPLETE EXPLANATION OF THE EVENT OR CIRCUMSTANCE, INCLUDING DATE(S), LOCATION(S), ORGANIZATION(S) OR
PARTIES INVOLVED, AND SPECIFIC OUTCOMES OR RESULTS.

Since October 1, 2010:

YES NO

O O 1. Have you had or do you currently have a medical condition that in any way impairs or limits your ability to currently
practice dentistry/dental hygiene safely and competently?

O O 2. Have you used or do you currently use alcohol, drugs, or other chemical substances in a manner that would in any
way impair or limit your ability to safely and competently practice dentistry/dental hygiene?

O O 3. Except for minor speeding or parking offenses (with fines under $100), have you ever been arrested, charged,
cited, indicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime or offense
including actions that resulted in a deferred or expunged judgment?

O O 4. Have you received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for any felony or misdemeanor in a criminal
proceeding?

O O 5. Do you have any felony or misdemeanor criminal charges currently pending against you in any jurisdiction?

O O 6. Have you been denied a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene or any other profession or occupation?

O O 7. Have you voluntarily surrendered a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene and/or have you ever agreed to
voluntarily restrict or limit your practice of dentistry/dental hygiene?



YES NO
0 0
O O
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0

7a.

10.

11.

12.

Continued on reverse

If you answered “YES” to the previous question, was a disciplinary action pending against you, were you under
investigation by a licensing agency at that time or did you surrender or agree to restrict or limit your practice of
dentistry/dental hygiene in lieu of disciplinary action being taken against you? N/A []

Have you been the subject of any proceeding by a licensing authority which either sought or resulted in censure,
reprimand, probation, suspension, surrender, revocation, fine or other discipline/penalty in connection with any
dental/dental hygiene or other professional license you held?

Are any professional liability or malpractice claims or complaints currently in process/pending against you?

Have any settlement agreements been entered into or any judgments entered against you resulting from your
practice of dentistry/dental hygiene?

Have any judgments or settlements been paid on your behalf as a result of a professional liability or malpractice
case(s)?

Are charges or an investigation currently pending in connection with your dental/dental hygiene license in any
other state?

| affirm that my answers and all statements made by me on this application and accompanying attachments are true and
correct. Should | furnish any false information, or cause any material omission, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for
denial, suspension, or revocation of my license. | also declare that if | did not personally complete the foregoing application, or any
portion hereof, that | have fully read and confirmed each question and accompanying answer, and take full responsibility for all answers
contained in this application.

Signature

Date




STATE OF IDAHO

IDAHO PATIENT FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT
CHAPTER 46, TITLE 54, IDAHO CODE

TO: Dentists Renewing with ACTIVE STATUS

SUBIJECT: Reporting of Provider Information to the IDACARE Profile Database

FROM: Idaho State Board of Dentistry

Idaho Patient Freedom of Information Act

Purpose and Requirements: The purpose of the Patient Freedom of Information Act (“PFI”) was to provide
patients with easily accessible information regarding licensed professionals to facilitate informed decisions in
connection with the patient’s selection of health care. The PFI created a publicly accessible database, typically
referred to as IDACARE, containing licensed professionals’ profile information such as the following: education
background; work history; board disciplinary actions; criminal convictions; malpractice history; and other specified
information (a complete listing of the required profile information is located at Idaho Code § 54-4603). The PFI
requires licensed professionals to provide profile information to their licensing boards at the time of initial licensure
and at the time of license renewal. The licensed professionals are responsible to make a full and truthful disclosure
of their profile information. Both licensing boards and licensed professionals are responsible to promote the
public’s awareness of its ability to access profile information by means of the database (IDACARE).

How to Report/Update Your Profile Information: The Board of Dentistry, in conjunction with other PFI
licensing boards, established the IDACARE website (http://idacare.idaho.gov/) to house the profile information
database and to provide a means of Internet access to that information by members of the public. The IDACARE
system allows dentists with active status to log-on the website and either complete an initial profile or update an
existing profile. Dentists with active licensure status shall provide their profile information, whether for purposes
of the completion of an initial profile or a profile update, to the IDACARE database in the following manner.

Step One: Log-on to the IDACARE database at https://idacare.idaho.gov/secure/update/userentry.cfm

Step Two: Enter your login identification and your password. Your login identification is entered in capital
letters and it is your license number (for example, D-9999). Your password is your birthdate (for example,
03/09/1905 or 10/20/1905). You may change your password at any time by following the directions contained
on the IDACARE website.

Step Three: Complete the initial profile or update an existing profile.

Step Four: Exit.





